Break

I can finally rest – kind of.  Today is the first official day of Christmas Break.  We actually had a snow day (well, more of an ice day) on Friday.  I was a little disappointed we didn’t have our last day before break.  That day is so enjoyable – everyone’s in a good mood, we have parties in the morning and the afternoon is spent in the gym playing games and listening to music.  Oh well – there’s always next year.

I have all of my Christmas shopping done.  Nothing is wrapped, but at least the shopping is done.  This year my son jumped from cute little toys to the more expensive, electronic gifts.  Thankfully, he only asked for a very few things.  My daughter, however, at three wants everything and that makes shopping very difficult.  She is not the dolly and dress-up kind of girl.  Thankfully, she loves animals and so that’s what I focused on.  We seriously stepped down our Christmas this year.  We talked to both kids about the importance of family instead of getting a lot of stuff.  My son, bless his heart, told Santa (at his school’s Santa Breakfast) that he didn’t want a lot because there were other kids who didn’t have a mommy and daddy like he did so to give the gifts to those kids.  I do believe Santa got teary-eyed.  My son is an old soul in a young body.

Even though I’m on break, I do have basketball practice.  Coaching is one of the things I love to do.  I really enjoy working with these young girls (5th and 6th graders).  I think I like getting to know them outside of the classroom.  This is my third year coaching this age group and I’m still close with many of the girls.

I am realizing that this post is a fairly random train of thought.  Can a train of thought be random?  Doesn’t a train have to be connected somehow?  Oh sorry.  I have taken to these questionings in my head.  I’m not really sure why, but it does get distracting.  Now I’m off to practice.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Break

  1. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

