Daughters

Recently, I have been watching my daughter and how she reacts to my husband.  Actually, it’s more of a reaction to my husband and me.  It doesn’t matter what she’s doing or where she’s at, but as soon as I am anywhere near my husband, she’s right there, wiggling her little way between us.  She is quite cute about it, but each time it happens I just cock my head to one side and squint, usually uttering, “Huh.”  I will say she is quite diplomatic about it because after receiving affection from her dad, she turns to me, hugs me around the knees and says, “I love you too, Mommy.” 

I know this is a completely normal phase, but I don’t know if there is a particular way I should be reacting.  My husband, poor man, can’t resist her.  And because he spends a good deal of time away from home, he just eats it up and gives into her with a smile.  I know it makes him feel good.  It doesn’t make me feel bad, just wondering if I’m helping or hurting her little psyche.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Daughters

  1. Being a dad with a daughter, I am not sure what to say.

    My granddaughter has two mommies and two dads. This is going to get very complicated.

Leave a Reply

