A Saying or Two

“Time flies when you’re having fun.”  Well, time certainly is flying, but I wouldn’t say there’s a whole lot of fun going on.  I mean, things aren’t bad – just busy.  Some days I don’t feel like I can catch my breath.  First grade homework – sorry “funwork” – is going to kill me.  I graduated from college and teach junior high special education but first grade spelling words and sight words are pushing me one step closer to the edge. 

“Every woman has one friend who is crazy and one who is a slut and if she doesn’t have one of each, then she is one of them.”  This saying didn’t come from a very reliable source, but I do wonder.  I think I attract both.  Maybe I’m noticing this because a) I’ve been in therapy and b) I feel better about myself.  I have one friend in particular who needs some serious help.  I’ve talked about her before, but things are just weird now.  She is finally in a steady relationship and I think he’s good for her and her kids.  I don’t like him personally – but I don’t have to live with him.  Anyway, she finally admitted that they live together and then, a couple of weeks ago, she springs on me that she is pregnant.  WHAT!?!?!?!?  Maybe I’m just old fashioned, but as a junior high teacher, I feel like we really need to be more responsible than “oops”.  Well, then she left work last Thursday because she was cramping.  When I talked to her, she said her doctor told her to go home and not get out of bed over the weekend.  She didn’t do it.  She spent the whole weekend running around.  I just don’t get it.  Why won’t she take care of herself?  She told me she was happy about this.  I just don’t have the patience for her drama.

Okay, I need to go to bed.  My early morning workouts are requiring a much earlier bedtime than I have ben accustomed to.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Saying or Two

  1. Be careful of associating with “drama queens.” They can suck the life out of you.

  2. I know. I’m trying to distance myself from her. It’s difficult since we work together, but easier since she’s so wrapped up in her boyfriend. I don’t know. I’m one of those people that has a hard time just writing people off. Although I have to admit that lately, I’ve realized that I have been a drama queen. I guess I could say that I’m a recovering dramaholic.

  3. You, a drama queen? I don’t really see that, but I suppose it’s possible.

    Your friend, on the other hand, sounds like a hot mess.

Leave a Reply

