A Death

She knew, looking into his eyes, that it was over.  He was saying the words, but she didn’t need to hear them to know he was severing their friendship – possibly forever.  She had opened her soul to him.  Sharing with him her life, her desires, her fears had come naturally.  Their friendship had always felt natural.  Now it all felt worthless.  She felt worthless.  The panic began to rise and she felt the need to run.  The mask of understanding was securely on her face but wouldn’t last long.  Finally, she walked from the room.  As she crossed the threshold, she had never felt more alone.  There was no one to talk to.  No one to ease her pain.  No other soul would understand their connection or the pain – not her husband or her other friends.  Her heart was choking and she didn’t know how to stop it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Death

  1. I will be – I hope. One of my dearest friends has ended our friendship. While I understand his reasons (our friendship is negatively impacting his marriage) it still hurts. I’m using the techniques Frank has taught me to stop the physical panic. They helped, but it still hurts. I’m trying to hang on until I can talk to Frank about it. He’ll be interested to know that I wrote about it in third person here.

Leave a Reply

