Therapy, therapy, and more therapy

Well, I have a new therapist.  After I talked about my rape, my therapist said that while he was working on some training in PTSD, he felt that it would be unfair to me to not have someone who was more capable.  I thanked him and told him that I respect that and while I was sad to switch because I felt we had a good relationship, I wanted the best.  The man he referred me to is actually his brother-in-law who works in the same group.  He said that he felt confident that if we got along, I would get along with him.  Okay, before I go on, I’m going to have to give my therapist a name.  Let’s see…I think I’ll call him Frank.  I don’t know why, but if he just look like a Frank.

Well, Frank and I do get along well.  We initially talked about the rape – sorry, my rape – but he feels that I have disconnected from it to such an extent that we have to work our way back to that time.  He has asked me to refer to as “my rape” as a way of trying to connect so I’m doing my best.  I do enjoy our talks and he is so patient.  When I talked about my reaction to being near the apartment, I began having the physical reaction.  He taught me a tapping sequence while I was having the physical reaction.  While it’s no miracle, it seems to have weakened those reactions.

Frank has to remind me often that I need to be patient.  I want it to be fixed, but I have to keep in mind it is a  process.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Therapy, therapy, and more therapy

  1. Getting started on a big problem is a big step. Then having good techniques for solving pieces of the problem makes it into a technical problem. It’s good to have good technical support. Sounds like you do.

  2. I am so impressed with your original therapist for realizing he didn’t have what you needed, and for referring you to someone with more training in trauma resolution.

    I can tell you from my own experience … you will approach this at your own internally-directed pace, and trying to hurry will only end up pushing it further away. Be kind to yourself. The tapping thing (EFT) can work really well when you’re in the middle of a physical response, even if it seems like a bizarre thing to do. 🙂

  3. While I like Frank and feel very comfortable with him, I will forever be indebted to my previous therapist. He is a really great man.

    Patience has never been one of my virtues – neither has follow through. Frank and I just talked about how I have a habit of making progress on something and then quitting. He suggested that it may be because I don’t think I deserve it. More issues we need to work on, although he has helped me realize that all of my issues are connected.

    The EFT thing did seem really bizarre at first, but I can’t deny how much it helped at the time.

Leave a Reply

