50 Years of…

…belongings, acquirements, stuff, junk, crap.  We are in the process of moving my grandmother from her home two hours away from our home to our town.  Cleaning out her house has been an experience.  My grandmother is a woman with many issues (must be a family thing) and she has always been obsessed with having things.  And because her and my grandfather struggled for money for many years, most of the things she acquired were of very little value.  Now that those things are 50 years old, they are of even less value.

She is moving from a five room, one bathroom house with a basement into a two room, one bathroom apartement in a supportive living facility.  She wants to take everything and what she isn’t taking, she thinks will get a small fortune at an auction.  I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but if we sell these things at an auction, we’ll lose money.  There isn’t anything of real value.  Most of the large furniture or things of value have been spoken for by my mother and her three sisters.

I spent two entire weekends helping my mother clean out her house.  There were tears and arguing and a whole lot of upset.  I just can’t deal with it right now.  My mom has exempted me from helping with the actual move this weekend because I was so helpful most of the summer. 

It all seems worth it, though.  My son said, on our way home from her house, he was excited because now that she would live near us, she could see him play baseball and soccer.  While I think she is a crabby old woman (she’s 91), going through all of this so that my kids have good memories of her makes it all okay for me.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “50 Years of…

  1. I tend to be a hoarder. As I get older, it will turn into a problem. Time to start the cure before I get past the point of no return. My wife is a “discarder.”

    I can see this going to a bad place. I don’t want to go there. 🙂

  2. Oh, do it now! If you care anything about your daughter and wife, you’ll not put them through this ordeal. I am also a hoarder, but after this chaos I am slowly getting rid of stuff. An Frank believes getting rid of possessions I don’t really need or use will be good for my therapy. I certainly don’t want to end up like my grandmother.

  3. Clearing things out of your life has an interesting psychologial/emotional impact … objects often hold “stuck” energy.

    I have an opposite tendency, in that I do not acquire objects easily, and rarely invest any emotional significance in things I own, which is a fairly benevolent manifestation of my attachment disorder.

  4. I don’t know that I have any emotional attachment to the things in my world. My basement is full of junk – I guess I just look at it as out of sight out of mind. I just don’t think about it. But I’m working on cleaning it up.

  5. My basement is full of junk – I guess I just look at it as out of sight out of mind.

    If you look at that statement from a symbolic standpoint, it really packs a wallop.

Leave a Reply

