A Getaway

My husband and I have just returned from a little getaway.  We traveled to St. Louis, Missouri (pronounced Missuree, not Missuraa) and spent the day at an amusement park then went to a St. Louis Cardinals baseball game.  We went with another couple.  It’s been a long time since we have had time together without the kids and even longer since we have had time with another adult couple.  I’m not the biggest fan of amusement parks, but since my husband and the other husband planned it, we went.  I just enjoyed walking around and people watching.

I have only been to one professional sporting event before and our seats were not that good that time.  Our seats to the Cardinals’s game were phenomenal.  We were only 10 rows up from the visitor dugout (directly in line from third base).  I’m not a huge sports fan, but I have been trying to become more interested in an attempt to spend more time with my husband.  Well, being there was quite fun and I was surprised at how excited I was.

The only downside to the whole thing was the other wife.  I like her well enough, but we couldn’t be more different.  I am a midwest girl, raised by my biological parents, living much like my parents have lived.  My parents weren’t rich, but they were able to provide what we needed.  I wasn’t spoiled, as I had two younger brothers.  I try not to be an overbearing parent and I encourage my kids to try new things and meet new people and I don’t want them to be completely and totally dependent on me.  She, on the other hand, grew up in the projects of a large city, the youngest by a number of years of several half-siblings.  There was danger around every corner and she had little to nothing in the way of material things.  What money her parents did have was spent on her.  She married a midwestern small town boy a number of years older than she, but still carries around a lot of baggage.  Her children have only spent a couple of nights away from her and she is rarely more than 5 feet away from them and if she’s not there, her husband or her mother are there in her place.  She has all of the latest and greatest gadgets, usually to a pretty hefty price tag. 

What I found most interesting about our time together was how intolerant she was of my parenting style.  At one point, my husband asked me if I missed the kids yet.  I told him not yet as we hadn’t been away from them for more than 24 hours.  She looked at me like I had just said I was going to kill her.  She was flabbergasted that I didn’t miss my children.  I tried to explain that it didn’t mean I didn’t love my children, but I knew they were in good hands with their grandparents and it was really nice to just spend time with my husband.  Later, she pouted when we didn’t eat at the restaurant she wanted to eat at.  And then she was furious when the two husbands were talking about the baseball game we had attended.  I think I can sum up the few days with her – she exhausted me.  It was difficult for me because I do like her and have always enjoyed our time together in the past.  I think my lesson here is that I can only take her in small doses.

Anyway, I’m glad to be home and looking forward to a relaxing summer.  Although I will still be working a couple of days a week tutoring kids, I think it’s going to be a nice summer.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Getaway

  1. Sometimes, incompatible friends are the most interesting friends. There does seem to be a difference between compatibly incompatible friends and incompatibly incompatible friends.

    My wife and I have been married for 42 years, yet we are not compatible. Probably if we ever think about this very much, it will be all over.

Leave a Reply

