Panicky

This is the way I am feeling right now.  I don’t usually feel this way when my husband leaves on a death call, but after the events of last night, I’m not very comfortable right now.  I guess I should explain.

At about 2:30am, my husband and I were awakened by someone knocking on our bedroom window.  Our bedroom is on the first floor in the front north corner of the house, facing the street.  There is a large maple tree that shades a good majority of the front of our house.  At the time, my husband got up and looked outside, but did not see anyone.  He checked all the windows and doors of the house and went upstairs to check on our children.  We called the police and they came and looked around the outside, but found nothing.  This morning, as we were leaving for work, we noticed partial footprints in the mud underneath our window.

About 15 minutes ago, my husband got a death call.  He has to go to a town about 2 hours away to pick up a deceased man, bring him back and embalm him, which will take about 2 hours.  So tonight, he will work about 6 hours, possibly more.  Now I’m home alone with our children. 

I don’t like this feeling.  I am not easily frightened but I can’t stop the feeling in the pit of my stomach.  And I feel like I have absolutely no control which, for a control freak, is unnerving.  I think I will read some, maybe watch a movie.  I know I will fall asleep at some point because my eyes are already quite heavy, but I just can’t turn the lights off and lie in bed.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Panicky

  1. David

    That’s pretty creepy. It’s odd about the knocking, though … strange thing for a thief or intruder to do. Maybe he was just lonely? 🙂

  2. It was quite creepy – but I’ve now convinced myself it was the neighborhood teenagers. And I figure at least it was our room and not one of my kids’ rooms. If they ever scare my kids enough that they don’t want to do something, especially like going to bed, then the Mama Claws will come out! 🙂

  3. Many years ago (living in Portland, OR at the time) a teenager talked us into letting him mow our lawn. He didn’t entirely make a favorable impression on us during the lawn mowing.

    The next day, there was evidence of someone trying (unsuccessfully) to break into our house through a window. We called the police. While there wasn’t enough evidence to nail the suspect, the police (who were fairly sure that he was the culprit) offered to go visit him at home with the intent of putting a scare into him.

Leave a Reply

