A Pause…

I have been forced to pause.  One of those life pauses, when you are forced to re-evaluate your entire life.  Two things have happened.

First, my husband’s boss is married with three children (14, 11, and 8).  His wife is 43 and had several cancerous brain tumors removed about 5 years ago.  Shortly before Christmas, she started having speech and balance problems.  They went to the doctor and found that there was another tumor, which they removed shortly after New Years.  They wanted to perform a new procedure to make sure they got all of the cells out on March 10.  When they arrived for the procedure, the doctor had the results of her latest MRI.  The tumor had returned and was twice as big.  They gave her 2-3 weeks to live.  She is still alive, but sleeping most of the day.  When she is awake, she is easily confused and experiences a myriad of physical problems.

Second, I went to my doctor for a follow-up to my surgery.  He told me they found a small amount of cancer cells in my uterus tissue.  He said that both the pathologist and an oncologist said, that based on the testing, they would not recommend further action since they had already removed my uterus.  The tests on my cervix and ovaries came back clean.  I will need to go back at the beginning of June for bloodwork and then again in September for bloodwork and a pelvic exam.

These two occurences have forced me to pause in the daily course of my life and think.  Usually just random thoughts about my life, what I’ve done and where I’m going.  I can feel my focus shifting, my responses changing, though I can’t pinpoint anything in particular.  In the past few weeks, those who know me best have seen the change, though they don’t know the reasons for it.  Well, except for my husband.  They tell me I’m calmer and less angry.  I think that’s a good thing.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Pause…

  1. Just take care of it the way God intended by using his creation. Remember, you have to live in your body the rest of your life and it is the temple for the Holy Spirit. (1 Corinthians 3: vs. 16)

  2. David

    Wow … two very sobering events to think about. I hope your husband’s boss’ wife has a gentle passing; I’m sure you and your family will be present to support him and his children, and that your presence will be a blessing to him.

    I am so, so glad you had the surgery when you did. And also very glad that the other tests are clear.

  3. While I can’t begin to imagine what they are going through, I have to admire them for doing it their way. A therapist is coming in regularly to work with the kids and coordinate with the school. He is letting the kids decide each day if they want to go to school or stay home. It seems they have all fallen into a pattern – the oldest more often than not goes to school, the middle one spends about an equal time at home and at school, and the youngest stays home most days. Her extended family has come and neighbors and friends have opened their homes so her family doesn’t have to stay at the house. He says this is the exact way she planned it.

    You don’t know how many times I have thought that exact same thing about my surgery. The doctor said it was like dodging a bullet. Whatever it was – I feel very lucky.

Leave a Reply

