MIA: My Voice and My Car

I have lost my voice – again.  I can’t ever remember losing my voice in the past.  Now I have lost it twice in only a couple of months.  It is very difficult to teach without a voice and of course, I have three important meetings with parents this afternoon.  I basically have given the kids worksheets to do today.  I feel guilty doing that, but I’m at a loss as to what I can do with them.

For the past several days, I have had some pretty severe head congestion.  The excretions look as though they came from some warped mind at Crayola.  Now, I have pretty bad chest congestion and I’m coughing up more oddly colored stuff.  My throat doesn’t hurt at all but nothing will come out.  I actually lost my voice shortly after I got home.  My two children were appropriately sympathetic and wanted to take care of me.  My daughter said, very ernestly, “You sleep on couch and I get you Sprite and crackers.”  (Although it sounded more like “you seep on couch and I get you prite and quackers.”)  Anyway, I didn’t get much sleep.  I didn’t take my daughter’s advice but my husband, the dear man, slept on the couch so he wouldn’t bother me or catch whatever I’ve got.

Oh yes, and my car is missing as well.  Actually it’s not missing per se, I just don’t have it.  Shortly after my surgery we had to have the radiator fixed.  Well, they didn’t fix it quite right and last Thursday, due to their error, my transmission went out.  So, I haven’t had a car in a week.  Thankfully, the mechanic who fixed the radiator and caused the problem in the first place willingly agreed to pay for the transmission.  I was ready to fight him, but he was very nice about it.  Not having a car is really starting to get on my nerves.  It’s not really that I have anyplace that I need to go and can’t, I just feel helpless having to rely on others for what I need.  Hopefully I will get it back today.

It’s so easy to take things for granted – like your voice or your mode of transportation.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “MIA: My Voice and My Car

  1. This post reminded me of the one and only time in my life that I had laryngitis … and man oh man, did I ever have a bad case of it. I literally couldn’t speak at all for almost three weeks … it was so bad that I carried cards with me in my car to hand to people at the gas station, grocery store, bank, etc. to tell them what I wanted. The only means of communication I could reliably use was e-mail. I felt like I’d been completely cut off from civilization. It was the strangest feeling. And yes, we do take little things for granted, like being able to talk.

    I find that the older I get, though, the less I take those things for granted. A couple of years ago I had some kind of dreadful flu thing that disabled my entire head for almost two months … nightmarish. I swore that if I could ever breathe through my nose again, I’d thank God for it every day. I’m sure God thought I was being melodramatic, but two years later, I actually still remember that, and I’m so relieved to be able to breathe. God should do more nice things for me now that he knows I’m appropriately thankful.

  2. I’m with you. Having battled severe asthma and fairly serious allergies my whole life, breathing has always been an issue. There are some mornings when I pray that for just one day, I could be allergy and asthma free like other people. The older I get though, I think that one day would be cruel and unusual punishment. I’ve also learned ways to try to keep it somewhat under control.

    This experience also taught me to listen more. When you can’t readily respond, you can learn a lot!

  3. That’s so true, Trured, about the benefits of actually not being able to speak. I am generally a quiet person, which probably explains a great deal about why I know so much about the people around me … more, probably, than they intend to reveal. The less you say, the more you hear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

