Magnified

I have recently begun to notice how some of my more undesirable traits are magnified in my daughter.  When I am frusterated, I make a quiet growling sound.  She does it – but it is quite loud.  I have gotten into the bad habit of saying, “Oh crap.”  My mohter says its not very ladylike, but I started doing it instead of saying, “Oh shit,” after my son said it at the grocery store.  Well, Oh crap has become one of her favorite sayings.  She is also a huge drama queen.  I am adult enough to admit that I have a tendency to be a little overly dramatic in certain situations.  It’s something I have been working on and trying to change for awhile, but I have apparently influenced my daughter.

It becomes most apparent when she is tired – and today is one of those days.  Everything she does, doesn’t do, can’t do, won’t do is a tear-filled, screaming mini-drama.  It doesn’t help that I’m a little on edge about going back to work tomorrow, either.  I think tonight will be an early to bed night for everyone.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Magnified

  1. David

    I’ve heard other parents say that children are sometimes uncomfortable mirrors of the self. Maybe that’s one of the reasons why my dad and I have never gotten along too well.

  2. This has not been a problem with our daughter, particularly, but I have a similar problem with my youngest brother. All his flaws strike me as similar to mine, but worse.

  3. I’m wondering if it is nature or nurture. I can also see characteristics of both of my brothers in each of my children. My son is so much like my middle brother it is scary. My daughter is very much like my youngest brother. And neither of my children have spent much time with either one.

Leave a Reply

