The long and bumpy road

Recovery has not been what I expected.  My doctor is keeping me home another week, which really means two weeks since we have Spring Break next week.   I know it’s for my own good, but I’m having a slight dilemma.

I feel that my recovery has not been smooth because I have been at home doing nothing.  I’m still in some pain.  Actually, it’s not pain really.  It is more like discomfort.  A dear friend who had a hysterectomy last year told me my complaints are not unusual.  She very gently explained that while the procedure I had was minimally invasive, my internal organs are still adjusting to some major physical trauma.  My bowels and my bladder don’t seem to be adjusting well.  It is also difficult since the muscles are still healing.  It feels like I did a thousand sit ups yesterday.

My emotional well being is also suffering.  It was difficult to be alone last week.  I felt much like I did after my children were born – alone and sad.  I couldn’t drive, I couldn’t do any housework.  I just stayed in bed and slept.  That certainly didn’t help anything.  The best I felt was this past Saturday.  My son’s school has an auction every year as a fund raiser.  A good friend asked me if I wanted to go with her because her husband couldn’t go and my husband was on call.  I actually put on regular clothes (not sweatpants and a sweatshirt) and went.  We stayed the entire evening and I felt so good.

This morning, I promised my son I would take him to school so he didn’t have to ride the bus.  I got up, showered and got dressed in regular clothes.  After I took him to school, my daughter and I went to the home improvement store with my mom to begin pricing items to redo one of our bathrooms.  We had lunch with my parents and then stopped at the store.  I feel human today.

I think my plan for these two weeks before I go back to work is to have something to do everyday.  My husband is a homebody and very happy to never leave the house.  I am the complete opposite – I want to do things, go places.  I’m already planning to do some shopping tomorrow for my kitchen, going the library on Thursday, to visit my grandparents on Friday and Saturday, we’re going to a local children’s museum next week and I’m going to take the kids to see “Horton Hears A Who.” 

I will keep in mind my limits and try to be very aware of when I am getting tired or feeling pain.  All of my excursions will be with my mom or a friend so there is someone else in case I need help.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The long and bumpy road

  1. The sister of a friend of mine had an emergency hysterectomy at about the same time you had yours, and is having very much the same emotional and physical response to the surgery. Getting out, with appropriate company, and carefully, is a really good idea. When you’ve been a busy and active person, major surgery can feel incredibly disempowering. I think you’re on the right track, finding things you can safely do. *hugs*

  2. Thank you for the encouragement. I would have been better prepared had someone been brutally honest with me about this process. When I was pregnant, my best friend (who had a young child) sat down with me and told me the brutal truth. She told me all the things that the books and the doctors gloss over or don’t mention at all. It was so helpful. I talked to several women who have had hysterectomies, but everyone just kept telling me it would be a piece of cake. I will keep your friend’s sister in my thoughts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

