Recovery…

My surgery went well.  The doctor told my husband that there were no complications and I only lost about an ounce of blood.  My recovery has not been so uneventful.  I had a difficult time coming out of anesthesia.  I did not suffer from nausea, but I just couldn’t wake up.  The best way I can describe it is swimming through mud.  I was in the recovery room longer than normal and Monday evening now seems like a dream to me.  My husband and my mother found me quite amusing, though.  I came home Tuesday evening.  Bless my husband’s heart – he has been quite the caregiver, all the while battling his own illness as well as the illnesses of my children.  Thankfully, he has seen the light when it comes to running a household and caring for children.  Several times he has said things are much harder than he imagined. 

I am still quite sore.  Today was the first day I was really out of the house.  When we got home, I quickly fell asleep.  It still is terribly painful to laugh, but the swelling has gone down and I am slightly more comfortable in general.

I need to get back into bed now, though.  Sitting upright in a firm chair is only tolerable for a short time.  Thank you David and modesty for your kind thoughts.  I am happy to say my fear of the worst did not come true.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Recovery…

  1. I am so glad that your surgery went well, and that your fears did not come true. I will be interested to hear whether your pain is gone after your recovery is complete, and whether you feel better. If my own experience of sudden chronic pain remission is anything to go by, you may be oddly tired out by the lack of pain as your body “lets go” of its need to be hypervigilant in order to cope with pain on a daily basis.

    While I wish things were easier for your husband (it’s pretty stressful to be sick and have sick kids while your wife is in surgery, I’d imagine) I think it’s good for him to see what you do, and gain new appreciation for how you hold the family together.

    I know I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating. The insidious and awful thing about chronic pain is the way it stops your life in ways you don’t even recognize; it takes so much energy to deal with. I think you’re going to find that your life starts to heal in more ways than just the literal recovery from your surgery. And like all healing, it’s going to hurt first before it feels better. 🙂

  2. David said most of the things I would be inclined to say, probably better than I can. I will just say that I am very glad that your surgery went well and express my wishes that your recovery goes well.

  3. Just checking in to say I hope you’re still recovering well, and that I am sending positive thoughts in your direction. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

