Coming Up for Air

The past couple of weeks have been odd.  The weather, I think, is being controlled by a maniacal little man who thinks it’s funny to screw around with snow, rain, thunder, lightening, and tornadoes.  I’m quite discommbobulated.  (I like saying that word, however, writing it is a different story.)

I have been sick for most of this week.  My head has been extremely congested and now it has moved into my lungs.  While I can now smell again, my chest feels tight and I fall into fits of coughing about every 20 minutes.  At least I got a little more sleep last night.

Tonight is our school’s Sweetheart Dance.  I have the task of chaperone.  There’s a small battle I fight with myself each year over this dance.  First of all, I think junior high students are too young to be having an affair of this magnitude (think high school prom, but with younger kids).  We tried to get rid of it a few years ago, but parents threw a fit.  We vote on a Sweeheart Court and they’ll crown a Sweetheart Queen and King.  Give me a break.  Second, doesn’t anybody realize that junior high dances are just an excuse for the parents?  The kids rarely dance – they just stand around and talk or chace each other around the gym.  Anyway, I will be here tonight, taking pictures and smiling, all the while wondering what we’re really teaching these kids.

While my husband and I are not fighting right now, we’re also not really talking about anything either.  At first I worried that we were avoiding again, but I think we both needed some time away from the issues.  There is a sadness in his eyes when he looks at me.  He’s slightly hesitant when he kisses me good-bye or gives me a hug.  We will talk and we will get through this I believe.  It may take some time, but I’m willing to wait.

In just about three weeks (March 3) I will be having surgery.  I’m becoming a little apprehensive – I mean, they are removing an organ.  It’s not one I’m currently using, but still, it’s an organ.  Okay, I have to stop thinking about this.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Coming Up for Air

  1. I agree that junior high is ridiculously young for any kind of Sweetheart anything. Too much pressure, too, for kids who aren’t ready to be thinking in those terms.

    I hope you feel better soon. And I hope you’re able to stay centered as your surgery date approaches. You’re doing the right thing for yourself. You’ll be fine. And you’ll feel better in the long run, though it’s going to be difficult to go through. All will be well with you. I believe that from the bottom of my heart.

  2. First off, thanks for dropping by my blog!

    Sweetheart dances are such a strange thing – and completely inappropriate for junior high kids, if you ask me. But maybe I’m just bitter since I never had a chance in getting voted on to the Royal Court!

    Good luck on your upcoming surgery – and as I’m a new reader, I don’t know what’s going on with you and your husband, but good luck there as well. We all have rough patches in our marriages – so just know you’re not alone!!

  3. I wasn’t voted onto any court either. All in all, it was a fun time. I took lots of pictures with my new camera and even was out doing a little dancing. I’m still with both of you – they’re too young for the whole “sweetheart” thing.

    David – I am feeling better and things at home are getting better. We are planning a weekend away in April (for our anniversary). Actually, we’re going on a marriage retreat. I’m looking forward to it and he seems very excited about it.

Leave a Reply

