A Book

I want to read a book.  Not just any book – a good book.  I want to read a book that entrances me, that pulls me in, that teaches me, that moves me, that gives me a new perspective.  I understand that I am asking quite a bit of a book.  There have been only a couple of books that have touched me in this way, but it has been a long time and I really want to have that experience again. 

Recently, I have read some books by authors that I have enjoyed in the recent past.  They have all been merely entertainment – easy reads that keep me occupied for a time.  There have been other books I have read, but they all revolve around child-rearing or finances.  They have all been informational and helpful, but they were more like homework.

So begins my quest for a book.  The book.  I don’t know where to start, but I think a morning at the library and an afternoon at the bookstore might be in order.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Book

  1. Not that you asked for a recommendation — but I have three. 🙂

    1) The Sea, the Sea by Iris Murdoch. This is readable, entertaining philosophy-as-fiction, if you can imagine such a thing. It won the Booker Prize, and remains my favorite of her novels. It’s a stunner. It’s also fairly long, so you get to really settle into it.

    2) A Death in the Family by James Agee. Nobody seems to read this book anymore, which is a terrible shame. A more perfect, poetic, and thought-provoking book has never been written about childhood loss and family politics.

    3) The Lost Traveler by Antonia White. This is the first of a trilogy; the two books following it are just as stunning as this one … my personal favorite in the series is the third book, but they are all superb examinations of the psychological and emotional life of an intellectual and rebellious young woman in England just after World War I.

    Your surgery is coming up quite soon, I believe? I am thinking about you.

  2. Thank you for the recommendations! I will be checking out all of them. Actually, I think I have not mentioned that the date for my surgery has been changed. Apparently, one of the doctors is taking a month long vacation in February. He changed his plans to leave the last week in January and return the third week in February so my surgery is now scheduled for March 3. While that seems a long time away, I know it will be upon me soon enough. Thank you for your thoughts, David.

Leave a Reply

