Whatever

I really don’t know where to begin.  My Thanksgiving was more relaxing than past holidays.  My husband’s parents are divorced, therefore, holidays require a bit of planning and manuvering.  This year, however, his mother went out of state and his father spent the holiday with his wife’s family.  So, we spent the day at my parent’s house.  My mom cooked (she is a phenominal cook) and the rest of us ate.  It was so nice.  We also decided that there wasn’t going to be a big Christmas dinner.  Soup and appetizers.  I’m in charge of the appetizers.  I’m looking forward to it!

I coach 5th and 6th grade girls’ basketball and our season has started.  It is both interesting and exhausting.  My girls range from a couple of good athletes who have a knowledge of basketball to a majority of girls who are willing, but not really athletic.  I try very hard to give each one some of my time and be positive.  Right now I’m working with them on teamwork.  I am very differnt from most coaches, though.  There are two basic principals I coach around.  One, schoolwork and family come first, basketball is somewhere further down on the list.  And two, losing is not failure and winning is not success.  Being a team by working with each other is success and not working together and fighting is failure.  Our first game is December 3.  We’ll see.

 I’m home today with my daughter.  She has had a low grade fever for a couple of days now.  I called the doctor, but they just said to keep an eye on her.  So, she’s been resting (which is difficult for a 2 year old, sick or not) and making sure she is drinking a lot.  I’ve been alternating Tylenol and Motrin to keep the fever down.  If it’s not any better by tomorrow night, I’m taking to an prompt care facility.

My son is exasperating me.  He is having difficulty reading.  They are working on basic sight words and his teacher has sent notes home saying he doesn’t know all of them.  We work on them together and he gets them correct for me about 2 out of 3 times.  When they do them at school, though, he doesn’t know any of them.  And on top of that, whenever I try to work with him, he gets totally frustrated and ends up in tears.  I’m at my wit’s end with him!

I’m getting slightly nervous about my surgery.  I have been watching what I eat and I’ve started exercising.  I am amazed at how much better I feel.  I got so much done over my break – laundry, cleaning.  I just feel so much better.  That really helps with motivation!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

