Friday

Friday has finally arrived.  It has been a very long week and I am so glad it is over.  I’ve still got a lot of work I need to finish before the end of the day, but I can look forward to the weekend.  Anyway, I think I have made a decision in regard to my recent diagnosis.

Most of the week, I have been leaning towards just having a DNC.  Even though the doctor said it may not help any, I have been willing to take that chance.  My reason?  Well, if I have the DNC, I will only miss one day of work and basketball practices.  Last night, I had a dream.  In the dream, people all around me were concerned and worried, but I couldn’t tell why.  The school I was in was a school I had worked at several years ago, but the people I currently work with were there.  Anyway, one of my co-workers whom I respect very much, took me by the hand, sat me down and told me I was crazy.  I at first offended, but the look in his eyes told me that he was concerned.  Then he said, “Why are here?  You know this place is killing you.  You never took the time for yourself and now it is too late.  Go home so you can die with your family around you.”  Then I woke up with a blinding headache.

I realized that the only reason I was leaning towards a DNC was so I didn’t miss too much work or too much of my basketball season.  I think my dream was trying to tell me that my health is more important.  It is hard for me because I am so dedicated to my students and my players that I hate to pass that off on someone else.  But I can’t keep allowing that to dictate how I live my personal life.

So, I am calling today to schedule the hysterectomy.  And I will hopefully be doing it the couple of weeks before Christmas.  This way, I won’t be missing a great deal of school time or basketball time.  But more importantly, it will give me time to heal before the holidays and we can still take the trip to Alabama, which my son is really anticipating. 

I am finally feeling peace about this decision.  I hope it is the right one.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Friday

  1. I think you’re very courageous. And I think you’re making a wise decision for your future health.

  2. trured73

    Oh, I don’t know about courageous but thank you for the validation. I really think this decision has made me feel a little bit clearer about who I am as a woman. I am finally making a decision that is best for me and not everyone around me. It is almost empowering.

  3. Tru, I am so sorry that I haven’t been reading your blog. Your name, when you comment on other blogs, doesn’t have a link, so I didn’t know that you had your blog up.

    I’m sorry that you’ve had to go through all of this, but I’m glad that you have decided to make your health a top priority. I hope that your husband will grasp the enormity of this situation SOON and realize that you need his support and respect and love during what must be a terribly difficult time. I will be thinking of you a lot and hoping that everything goes well.

  4. I’m in the same boat as teaspoon; I didn’t know you had a blog up so I didn’t read it and I am now catching up, even behind teaspoon and David.

Leave a Reply

