The Verdict

Well, I have to say that my doctor’s appointment went well.  My doctor is an amazing man and I truly respect him.  He first gave me the diagnosis and explained what it meant.  Adenomyosis and fibroids.  I already knew about fibroids as I have had problems in the past.  The adenomyosis I had never heard of and had to ask a number of questions.  It is when cells from the endometrial lining of the uterus embed themselves into the uterin muscle.  The fibroids are causing the heavy bleeding and the adenomyosis is causing the pain.  There is no long term or fatal conclusions to either one.

My treatment options are varied.  I can go on the birth control pill to control the bleeding, but it won’t stop the pain.  I could have a DNC (removes the lining of the uterus) to help with bleeding but there is no guarantee that it will lessen the pain.  Finally, a hysterectomy which is the only option that will take care of both symptoms without question.  They would leave my ovaries so as not to put me directly into menopause.  Apparently, symptoms of adenomyosis go away after menopause, but being only 34, that is a long way off. 

My doctor is not pressuring me in any direction.  He was so patient with all my questions and offered to make a list of doctors to get a second opinion.  He told me that as a man, he didn’t experience what I was experiencing so it was up to me and how much pain/discomfort I want to put up with.  He also feels that while this diagnosis is not the main cause of my increasing battle with depression, it hasn’t helped any.

So now I have a decision to make.  After the raging fight I had with my husband, he hasn’t offered any advice.  And I don’t know that I want him to.  But at the same time, I do.  He is so frustrating!

I am currently drinking a large quantity of beer.  No, it will not help things.  Yes, my issues will still be there tomorrow.  Right now, I need to be numb.  I can’t process what the doctor has told me and the disappointment I feel about my husband.  It is too much right now.  I will deal with it tomorrow.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Verdict

  1. *just listening*

    Hugs to you, dear girl.

  2. trured73

    Tahnk you David. I did regret ingesting so much alcohol the next morning (as I usually do) but I think it did help me not to panic.

  3. I think it’s OK to use alcohol as an escape occasionally, as long as it does not become a coping mechanism that you use very often. Lord knows it sounds as though you need a coping mechanism right now. I hope that you have some close friends nearby to help you through this, since your husband is being less than helpful.

  4. teacherswife99

    I recently found out that I have adenomyosis too.. this, on our journey to trying to get pregnant. It’s gonna be a while but the pain can get really bad sooo, I dunno. I’m wondering about the hysterectomy as well. Once hubby finds a new job and there’s some cash flow we will have to quickly move forward with having a baby so we can do that before a hysterectomy (obviously).. hard decisions.

  5. I’m sorry you’re in such a difficult situation. I often commented how lucky I was that we already had our two children. And while we lightly discussed having another, neither was sure so we went ahead with the surgery. I have to say, I am feeling amazingly free.

Leave a Reply

