Perfect Evening

Last night, we had a perfect evening.  Well, since nothing is perfect, it was as close to perfect as my family can get.  After I got home from therapy, my husband said my son had found these little wood models and wanted to work on them (I had bought these wood models awhile ago for a dollar).  All the pieces are there, you just have to paint and assemble.  It was quite enjoyable watching the two of them attempt this project.  They carefully put newspaper on the table then got out all the parts and got the paint and paintbrushes ready.  Now, I know this seems simple enough, however, my husband is quite craft challenged and my son is only six.  Most of the time I was watching, I had a smile on my face.  I was also biting my tongue.  It is very hard for me to watch people do things, particularly things that I am half way decent at, and not comment or correct.  But I did it.  My daughter sat on my lap and watched for awhile as well.

Before long, she wanted to help.  I gently told her no that it was a Daddy and Baylor project.  She looked at me with tears and said, “I want Mommy and Mattea do it.”  I was nowhere near close to letting her near the paint (it wasn’t washable paint).  I remembered that my mom had bought some foam Halloween decorations that needed to be put together.  I got the box and told her we would do it together.  She started screeching and clapping.  I got the craft glue out and put the major structure together then she got to decorate with the peel and stick decorations.

Sitting at the kitchen table, Baylor and my husband on one side and Mattea and I on the other, all working on projects together.  No fighting, no tears, no complaining, no television.  It was beautiful.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Perfect Evening

  1. Very sweet. We don’t do nice projects here; the cats won’t follow directions, and they run away with the craft supplies.

Leave a Reply

