My Big Fat Crazy Family

Well, right now I feel as if I have been hit by speeding train.  Work is definitely not the place I want to be right now.  My bed, with its soft sheets and fluffy pillows, is calling my name.  Unfortunately, if I wasn’t at work, they would be calling me as well.

This past weekend we had a surprise birthday party for my grandmother’s 90th birthday.  I questioned how smart it was to have a surprise party for a 90 year old woman, but since she can’t see well, we had to explain it to her, thus removing the whole idea of a surprise.  Thankfully, we had it at my parent’s house so I was only five minutes from home and able to sleep in my own bed.  My mom has three sisters, all of whom came.  Her older sister has seven children (five of whom have spouses) and eleven grandchildren.  Of those 22 people, 18 people showed up.  My mom has three children (I’m the only married one) and two grandchildren.  All three of us were there along with my kids and my youngest brother brought his girlfriend.  The sister that is just younger than my  mom has five children (three spouses) and two grandchildren.  One of her sons (and his wife) and her daughter (who is in college) were there.  Finally, the youngest sister was there with her daughter-in-law and her granddaughter (that sister has two sons).  It was craziness!  Thankfully my parents have a large house and an even larger yard.

Overall, there are a number of things that happened that I need to get out.  However, right now I haven’t had time to process any of them and I’m too tired to care.  I have a relationship with my cousin that is odd, my dad told me I’m a disappointment, my self-esteem hit rock bottom, I ate myself senseless, I drank entirely too much alcohol, I stayed up way too late every night, and it was probably one of the best weekends I have had in recent memory.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, feelings

Leave a Reply

