School/Work

Well, the school year has officially started.  I’m not sure how this year is going to go, but I’m trying to stay optimistic.  I have placed a smile on my face, hoping that it will eventually make me happy and mabye even rub off on my co-workers.  I think people will probably just think I’m on drugs.

My students seem okay.  Of course, I only spent 15 minutes with each class, but most I have had for two years now.  I do like that consistency.  I know what to expect and I’m able to watch them grow.  I do have 3 glorious class periods when I am only teaching one subject.  I know, for most teachers that isn’t odd.  For me, it is.  The other 5 class periods I am teaching 2 and 3 different subjects (during 3rd hour, I’m teaching Social Studies to one student, English to two students, and Math to two students).  Such is the nature of the special education resource classroom.

I think I have found a way to get what I want, though.  Originally, I was supposed to do lunch supervision duty and therefore wouldn’t be able to have my students for study hall.  The solution was to divide those students up between two other special education teachers.  I resigned myself to this, even though I hated not having those students in my room for study hall.  I like being able to keep track of their progress in other classes and work with them on studying for tests and quizzes as well as completing homework.  But my new attitude to be a team player and not complain so much would have been dampened had I argued about it.  I asked, but was told a change to the supervision could not be done.  Anyway, after giving one of the other teachers the list for them to split up, I got a visit from the principal.  Amazingly, my schedule was changed.  Hmmm.  Oh well.  In the end, I got what I wanted.

Hopefully the year will continue to hold little surprises like that for me.  Kill them with kindness is going to be my motto.

On a completely unrelated note, I am having some emotional feelings that I’m not sure about.  They’re taking me by surprise and I don’t even know where to begin.  I think I need to ponder some more and maybe then I can put them into words.  Right now, I just can’t.

Leave a comment

Filed under school, students, teaching, work

Leave a Reply

