Weddings

I went to a wedding on Saturday.  It was quite lovely.  I always like going to weddings with my husband.  We always hold hands while the bride and groom are saying their vows as our way of renewing our own vows.  This particular bride and groom chose to write their own vows and they were beautiful.  They did do something that I had not seen before.  They created a video presentation of pictures of each of them as they grew up as well as pictures of them together – a kind of history of their lives.  Anyway, I have seen this done, but it has always been shown at the reception.  They chose to show it at the church at the end of the ceremony.  I’m not sure how I feel about it.  I enjoyed seeing pictures of each of them, but I guess having it at the church threw me a little.  Oh well.

The reception was beautiful and the food was good.  I didn’t like the extended period between the ceremony and the reception (almost 2 hours) but I understand about the whole picture thing.  Anyway, it would have been an enjoyable evening had my husband not decided to pick a fight.  I still don’t quite know what happened or why.  I kept trying to tell him that it wasn’t the time or the place for it, but he kept going.  At one point, we were at the table by ourselves and he started arguing with me again.  Suddenly, I realized that my boss was behind me, listening.  She apparently had come over to talk to me and I don’t know how much she heard.  It was a quite uncomfortable.  And I didn’t get to share a single dance with my husband.  I was very disappointed.

I tried to enjoy myself and danced with friends during the fast songs.  I got to talk to the wife of one of my co-workers about her photography.  She is VERY talented and I asked if she would consider taking some pictures of my kids.  I offered to pay her, but she said she would do it for free because she loves doing it and wants the practice.  I am so excited!

Overall, I do enjoy going to weddings.  And I am so happy for the bride and groom.  They looked so happy.  I hope that they have a good life together.  I always look back at my own wedding and what has happened since then.  It hasn’t always been easy, but I wouldn’t change it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

