Library

This morning my children and I walked to our local library.  Actually, my son rode his bike and my daughter rode in the stroller and I walked.  It was quite warm – we probably didn’t pick the best day to do it, but overall it was enjoyable.  It’s a 20 minute walk so I feel good that I got some exercise in.

 Our little town is in the process of building a community center.  I have no real objection to it, but I just don’t see the need for it.  It will have banquet facilities (we already have 3 in town), an indoor pool (which we do not have), an exercise center (which is currently housed in the old middle school building), basketball courts (there are numerous others around town) and the new library.  The new community center, when it was first discussed, was not to cost the townspeople any money.  They were building it purely on donations and loans, hence the reason it has been in the works for almost 8 years now.  I was weary of this endeavor when it was first proposed.  Of course, now they want to raise taxes.  Surprise, surprise. 

My biggest issue, however, is the fact that the community center is further away from our house.  We will no longer be able to walk to the library in the summer.  My son saw blueprints displayed in the library today and asked what they were for.  I explained the situation.  He knew of the new community center but it wasn’t until today that he connected it with the library.  Tears welled up in his little eyes as he asked, in a halting voice, if we would still be able to do our summer library walks.  I had to gently say no.  He sniffled a few times, trying to hold back.  One of the librarians had been watching the whole thing and tried to help by adding that the new library would have more books and a bigger children’s area.  Knowing my son as I do, I knew what was coming next.  He looked at her, let out a cry and waled, “I like this one!  What’s so wrong with the old one?  I know where everything is.  And just because my Granna is old, I don’t want to get rid of her so why do you want to get rid of the old library?”  At that, he turned and fled outside to his waiting bike.  I apologized for his outburst and herded my daughter out the door.

My son, like me, is a creature of habit.  I believe he is responding more to the idea of change than he is the library moving.  When we got home, and he began talking to me again, I explained that we could still go to the library, but we would either have to drive or everyone ride bikes, which means waiting a couple years for my daughter to catch up.  He was still not happy, but resigned himself to the fact that there’s nothing he can do about it.

On a side note, I have heard that the library building is for sale – a mere $300,000.  I say that with sarcasm because that is quite a bit to my family.  I have always dreamed of buying a building that was once something else, like a library or small church, and turning it into a family home.  I love having parties and it would be ideal.  Of course, the building is $300,000, but converting it would take considerably more.

Leave a comment

Filed under children, dreams, family, small town

Leave a Reply

